Brown Rice

I have been meaning to write a post on how to cook brown rice properly because for those of you who have cooked brown rice before, you would know how hard it is to get the rice to the right consistency and texture. It is either too hard and husky, or starchy and overcooked. I started to introduce brown rice in our home about a year ago in my effort to eat more healthily. However, it took me a while to get it right until I remembered a tip that was given to me by a Pakistani university mate. I remember going over to my Pakistani friend’s place for dinner where he showed me how his family cooks basmati rice back in Pakistan, and the result is always light and fluffy rice. I tried his method to cook my brown rice and Voila! it worked 😀 To my dear friend who recently posted on Facebook how hard it was for her to cook brown rice, I hope you find this post helpful.

INGREDIENTS (Portion is for 1 person)

1 cup          Brown rice

4-5 cups    water

STEPS

1. Measure out the brown rice and put in a pot. Unlike jasmine rice or basmati rice, there is no need to rinse brown rice. Fill up the pot with 4-5 cups of water. The excess water will boil and help to circulate the rice making it light and fluffy.

2. Place the cover on the pot and put it on simmer on medium heat for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, remove the lid and let the rice continue to boil for another 10-15 minutes.

3. Using a ladle, feel the rice to see if it is cooked. Once cooked, strain the rice using a sieve to rinse out the excess water.

The rice is now ready. This method can also be used to cook long grain and basmati rice.

Serve the warm fluffy rice with your favourite dish.

All the best and I hope your brown rice turns out good,

Mariam S

Leave a Reply

