Sweet Potato Kaya/Jam

My first experience eating sweet potato as an accompaniment to my breakfast is when Zu and I were in Fez, Morocco early of this year. I remember the beautiful blue-and-white Riad clearly but what I remember the most is the vibrant orange sweet potato jam that was served with fresh Moroccan bread and pancakes, alongside the most delicious orange juice I have ever tasted. I didn’t manage to ask the cook the recipe or how he had made the sweet potato jam, and also since I didn’t manage to find them on supermarket shelves, I decided to come up with my own version.

INGREDIENTS

1          medium size sweet potato

100g    soaked almonds

50g      caster sugar

250ml   water

2           eggs

1           vanilla pod (or good quality vanilla essence)

Pinch of salt

Pinch of nutmeg

STEPS

1. Place the sweet potato on a baking sheet and roast in the oven (150C) for 1-1.5 hour. Once done, let the sweet potato sit to cool on the baking sheet. Peel off the skin of the sweet potato. This should be easy as the roasting helps to loosen the skin from the flesh.

 

 

 

 

2. To 100g of soaked almonds, add 5g of ginger and 250ml of water. Blend the mixture until smooth and then sieve and strain to obtain the ginger-infused almond milk (You can use coconut milk in place of the almond milk) into a pot. Place the pot on low heat at the stove and make sure the milk does not boil. Add in a pinch of salt to the milk to season. Prepare a separate pot of boiling water for the double boiling process.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Measure out the sugar and to it, add 2 eggs and mix well. Cut the vanilla pod length-wise and scrape off the vanilla using the back of a knife and put the vanilla into the egg mixture. Do not discard the vanilla pod as it can be stored in a glass of sugar to make vanilla sugar. If you do not have vanilla pod, feel free to substitute it with good quality vanilla essence. For me, I just love to see specks of vanilla in my kaya and plus I couldn’t find any halal vanilla essence here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Whisk the egg mixture well and add in the sweet potato into bowl. Break down the sweet potato with the whisk.

 

 

 

 

4. Using a hand-held blender (or any normal blender will do), blend the sweet-potato and egg mixture together until a smooth consistency is achieved.

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Slowly and little by little pour in the ginger-infused almond milk into the sweet potato and egg mixture. Stir continuously while pouring to avoid the egg from becoming scrambled eggs. Place the bowl of kaya mixture onto the pot of boiling water and immediately lower down the fire to minimum to prevent the kaya from overcooking too soon. Grate in around half a teaspoon of nutmeg into the kaya for added depth of flavour.

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Continue to stir the kaya for abour 30 – 45 minutes until the kaya thickens.

 

 

 

 

7. After the sweet potato kaya has thickened up, let it sit to cool before transferring it to an air-tight container.

 

 

 

 

The sweet potato kaya is now ready and can be used as spread on toast, pancake, and even as a dip for yutiao (or cakio in Malaysia). I have been craving for yutiao lately and all the recipes of it that I see online seem call for ingredients which seem a little foreign to me (and worrying too) such as ammonia and alum. What are they?! Well I finally did my version of yutiao which I must say, is not too bad, and no unfamiliar ingredients added. I’ll be sharing with you my version of yutiao in my next post (or the post after if I’m not too lazy ;D).

Till then, have fun trying and enjoy your sweet potato kaya,

Mariam S

Leave a Reply

